No Birds Sing Here, by Daniel V. Meier Jr.

New Release — Adult Fiction, Satire

Satire at its best!

In this indelible and deeply moving portrait of our time, two young people, Beckman and Malany, set out on an odyssey to find meaning and reality in the artistic life, and in doing so, unleash a barrage of humorous, unintended consequences.

Beckman and Malany’s journey reflects the allegorical evolution of humanity from its primal state, represented by Beckman’s dismal life as a dishwasher to the crude, medieval development of mankind in a pool hall, and then to the false but erudite veneer of sophistication of the academic world.

The world these protagonists live in is a world without love. It has every other variety of human drive and emotion, but not love. Do they know it? Not yet. And they won’t until they figure out why no birds sing here.

Meier’s writing is precise and detailed, whether the situation he describes is clear or ambiguous.

Fans of Franzen and Salinger will find Meier to be another sharp, provocative writer of our time.

ISBN 978-1945448959 (Paperback)

Adult Fiction, Satire

6 x 9, 250 pages

Publication date: March 1, 2021

This book is available in paperback and eBook format:

AmazoniBooks barnes koboindieboundAmazon

 

 

 

 

 

~~~~~

Daniel Meier graduated from UNCW (University of North Carolina, Wilmington) with a major in History. He served in the United States Navy and later studied American Literature at The University of Maryland Graduate School and began writing.

Meanwhile, he taught English and History at a private high school for a couple of years, worked as a flight instructor and a pilot examiner for the FAA (Federal Aviation Administration).

In 1980, Leisure Books published a mystery/ thriller that he wrote under the ‘nom de plume’ Vince Daniels. In addition, he published a short story in a college literary magazine and worked, briefly, for the Washington Business Journal as a journalist. He was also a contributing editor to several aviation magazines and worked as a technical writer/editor for a U.S. government contractor.

For the past two decades he has served the FAA as an Aviation Safety Inspector for flight operations working mostly out of the Washington D.C. headquarters. He is now retired and therefore has had an opportunity to return to his writing.

He and his wife live in Owings Maryland, about 20 miles south of Annapolis, and spend summers sailing their Bayfield 36 on the Chesapeake Bay.